Be A Friend  |   Send A Message
  |   Bookmark This Member  |  
  |  Report Abuse
Member Name JOHN RAIKKONEN
Date of Birth 09/10/1940
Gender Male
Location 1024 CROOKED STICK CT SUMMERVILLE SC
First Name:
Last Name:
Location:
Postal Code:
Change Email Address:
Change Gender:
Change Password
Block Members
Upgrade My Account
Do Not Show My Last Name
Do Not Show My Birth Day
Who Can View My Profile:


Who Can Comment:

Notify me when:





    • Just a nice retired fellow wih my wife. We have three childre and three grandchildren living close to us.

        • MY own book.....LIFE is an AMAZING SONG
          Jack Lodon
          Thoreau
          Emerson
          Brad Thor
          John LeCarre
          And many more good authors


        • Classical .............

        • Amazing Race
          On Discovery channel......Alaska gold


        • Local Charleston SC newspapers

        • Too many to list.

        • The Finnish soldres....Including my father who was the youngest Captain in the Russian war.

        • Discord is nothingness.....Harmony is somethingness ..By: Mary Baker Eddy

        • Reading, writing
          Gold prospecting in NC
          Fishing


        • I grew up in hotel enviroment and am very much people oriented.
          Private Country Clubs and reataurant business


    •  
      JANNE   JANNE wrote
      on 1/29/2012 8:52:18 AM
      LIFE is an AMAZING SONG ISBN; 1453735100 WEB: http://www.LifesAmazingSong.com

      JANNE   JANNE wrote
      on 1/26/2012 4:35:10 PM
      My book is: ENCHANTING-SAD- UPLIFTING-REFRESHING and HUMOROUS

      JANNE   JANNE wrote
      on 1/26/2012 3:10:27 PM
      Hello from Johan: An immigrant’s story unlike you have ever read before. Life is an Amazing Song It is a wonderful book of a young boy's life during the war times in Finland at his grandparents in Oulu, North Finland. Later he was sent to Orsa in the Dalarna region of Sweden. After several years with foster parents in Sweden, he finally returned back to Finland to his mother, sister and brother in South Finland, it was a happy homecoming after some seven years absence, but it was a shock. He found his family's life to be hard and raw. Food was scarce. They lived in a tiny firetrap apartment building. His mother worked as a prison guard and with her meager salary was barely able to support the family. His father returned from the war and immediately announced that he wanted a divorce from mother. After that he disappeared from their life without any financial support. Not long after their misery, there was a change when mother regained her old position at the Internationally famous Hotel Aulanko, The family moved to the hotel's premises, into a solid large log cabin. Now life turned out for the better. The hotel years were exciting and uplifting. Life was beautiful again. A "miracle" happened to the boy, at age seventeen, when he received an invitation to America, with all travel and living expenses paid, plus schooling in Philadelphia. He embraced his new life in America with vigor - in the land of opportunity-becoming a successful business man years later. He now lives in South Carolina with his wife, close to their grandchildren. The book is a memoir in the tradition of Angela's Ashes, My Life as a Dog (Swedish book) and a hint of Tom Sawyer, Enchanting-Sad-Uplifting-Refreshing-Humorous John Raikkonen ( Johan in Swedish) is the Author of a new exciting memoir about Finland and Sweden during the Finnish-Russian war, year 1942 to 1945 and the after effect. Reviewed by Siggy Buckley Please view John’s web page: www.LifesAmazingSong.com Each copy ordered off the web site will be autographed by John

JANNE
Profile
writing JANNE
LIFE is an AMAZING SONG................about the Finnish-Russian war times and after .
It is a memoir abot my life during that time. I was sent to Sweden for several years, to safety from the war.
The book consists of 300 pages of "An immigrant's story unlike you have ever read before. At age 17 I stepped of SS. UNITED STATES in New York and attended school in Philadelphia.
In year 1975 I became an American citizen and over the yers became a successful business man.

America truly is/and was the land of opportunity, which I had heard so much often in Finland.
Bookmark and Share

© 2014 WritingRoom.com, LLC. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
WRITING | POETRY WRITING | CREATIVE WRITING | WRITE A BOOK | WRITING CONTESTS | WRITING TIPS